Social Work

Department of Social Work

Faculty: Lawanna Lancaster (Department Chair and Director of the MSW program), Caroline Collins (Title IV-E Scholars' Coordinator), Mary Curran, Ezekiel Ette, LeAnn Stensgaard (Director of the B.A. program), (Field Administrator), Al Sanchez, Scott Slater (Title IV-E Foster Care/Adoption Coordinator), Terri Theriot

Mission of the Department: The primary program mission is to prepare students for beginning practice in the profession of social work.

Admission to Methods Courses: To qualify for entrance into upper division courses applicable for completion of a degree within the Department of Social Work, students must complete the following requirements:

  1. Be officially admitted to Northwest Nazarene University
  2. Have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.00
  3. Declare a major in Social Work
  4. Complete SOWK1720, SOWK2110, and SOWK2960 or SOWK2970
  5. Be enrolled in or have taken S0WK2850
  6. Make application to take methods courses
  7. Be interviewed by the Social Work faculty
  8. Be accepted by the Social Work faculty to take methods courses

The student will be placed on probationary status if a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.00 is not maintained.


Bachelor of Arts, Social Work


Social Welfare